January 31, 2018
Ghee has been a staple in traditional Indian cooking and Ayurvedic medicine for centuries. In recent years, society has been turning back to traditional foods because of the incredible health benefits they contain.
One traditional ingredient that has seen a recent renaissance is Ghee. The traditional clarified butter is being used more and more due to its nutrient-rich and free-of-milk protein, making it a great option for those with dairy intolerances.
What is Ghee?
Ghee is made through the process of boiling butter and skimming off the butterfat. This eliminates the proteins (casein and whey) and the milk solids (containing the lactose), leaving what is known as clarified butter.
Ghee garnered a bad reputation because of its high saturated fat content; believed to be responsible for the increased risk of heart disease. But researchers actually discovered that ghee can help reduce the risk of heart disease, rather than increase it. It is also packed with vitamins A, D, E and K, as well as fatty acids CLA and butyric acid thanks to the grass-fed butter it is made from.
Royal Nawaab’s halal restaurant in Manchester uses the finest ingredients in its dishes, including Ghee. All of which can complement a healthy lifestyle.